NIPE – Newborn Infant Parasympathetic Evaluation

Our technology adapted to the little ones.

Based on the results obtained from the ANI technology on the monitoring of non-communicating adults patients, 3 more years of research and development were necessary to give birth to the NIPE index (Newborn Infant Parasympathetic Evaluation). The NIPE technology enables the evaluation of the parasympathetic part of the autonomic nervous system of newborns, from premature to the age of 2 years, from the electrocardiogram provided by the multi parametric monitor.

NIPE2@2x

The NIPE index provides an objective value of neonatal wellbeing. Its use does not require additional sensors. The NIPE monitor offers a value between 0 and 100 corresponding to the activity of the parasympathetic component of the patient’s autonomic nervous system. The higher the value of the NIPE index is, the higher patient’s comfort is important.

Numerous experimental and clinical studies have shown that newborns are particularly sensitive to stress. Each situation causing pain or discomfort can alter their neurodevelopment and cause long term consequences with an increased risk of developing cardiovascular and metabolic diseases (hypertension, diabetes, obesity …) but also have cognitive influences that may lead to a depressive behavior or an addictive behavior(cf DoHAD).

The value of the NIPE index is reduced in case of postoperative pain and increased during development cares as cocooning and skin-to-skin contacts. It is essential to reduce and prevent as much as possible stress and/or painful event that may occur before the age of two years old.

The means available for medical teams are mainly pain assessment scales, based on a behavioral evaluation. Unfortunately, these observations are time consuming, they require a continuous observation of children and are subject to a great variability within and between observers.

In a single medical device, the NIPE monitor is able to provide important information for an optimal care of hospitalized children: assessment of stress and/or prolonged pain, an assessment of the response to an acute pain stimulus and an assessment of the wellbeing increase generated by the development cares (cocooning, skin-to-skin …).

More Informations

NIPE – Newborn Infant Parasympathetic Evaluation

Notre technologie adaptée aux plus petits.

Forts des résultats obtenus à partir de la technologie ANI sur le monitorage des patients non communicants adultes, 3 années de R&D furent nécessaire pour donner naissance à l’indice NIPE (Newborn Infant Parasympathetic Evaluation). La technologie NIPE permet l’évaluation de la composante parasympathique du système nerveux autonome des nouveau-nés, du grand prématuré jusqu’à l’âge de 2 ans, à partir de l’électrocardiogramme fourni par le moniteur multi-paramétrique.

NIPE2@2x

L’indice NIPE offre une valeur objective du bien-être néonatal dès la naissance. Son utilisation ne requiert pas l’usage d’électrodes supplémentaires. Le moniteur NIPE offre une valeur comprise entre 0 et 100 correspondant à l’activité de la composante parasympathique du système nerveux autonome du patient. Plus la valeur de l’indice NIPE est élevée, plus le confort du patient est important.

De nombreuses études expérimentales et cliniques ont montré que les nouveau-nés sont particulièrement sensibles au stress. Chaque situation engendrant une douleur ou un inconfort peut altérer leur neuro-développement et causer des conséquences à long terme avec une augmentation du risque d’apparition de pathologies cardiovasculaires ou métaboliques (hypertension, diabète, obésité…), mais aussi des influences cognitives pouvant mener à un comportement dépressif, à un comportement addictif, ou encore à une réponse inadaptée à la douleur et/ou au stress. (cf DoHAD)

La valeur de l’indice NIPE est réduite en cas de douleur post-opératoire et est augmentée au cours de soins du développement comme le cocooning et les séances de peau à peau. Il est essentiel de réduire et d’empêcher autant que possible tout évènement stressant et/ou douloureux pouvant survenir avant l’âge de deux ans.

Les moyens dont disposent les équipes médicales sont principalement les échelles d’hétéro-évaluation de la douleur, basées sur une évaluation comportementale. Malheureusement, ces observations sont chronophages, elles nécessitent une surveillance continue des enfants et sont soumises à une grande variabilité intra et inter-observateurs.

En un seul et même dispositif médical, le moniteur NIPE est capable de fournir des informations importantes pour une prise en charge optimale de l’enfant hospitalisé, à savoir : une évaluation du stress et/ou de la douleur prolongé(e), une évaluation de la réponse à un stimulus de douleur aiguë et une évaluation de l’augmentation du bien-être généré par les soins du développement (cocooning, portage en peau-à-peau…).

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS