ANI – Analgesia Nociception Index

Two international patents protect the ANI technology.

The ANI (Analgesia Nociception Index) allows a direct measurement of the activity of the autonomic nervous system (ANS) through the analysis of its parasympathetic component via the respiratory sinus arrhythmia. Our index uses brief and rapid heart rate variations induced by each respiratory cycle (spontaneous or artificial) in order to quantify the parasympathetic tone.

ANIV22@2x

Developed in order to provide clinicians a monitoring system of analgesia matching the requirements of routine clinical practice, in other words easy to use, easy to interpret, reliable and continuous… The ANI is a numerical value that evolves between 0 and 100. Our index quantifies the activity of parasympathetic part of the autonomic nervous system.

ANI has been originally developed to predict the occurrence of a hemodynamic response (defined as more than 20% increase of heart rate and/or blood pressure) under general anesthesia. However, our technology also proved her reliability on conscious patients before anesthesia , in intensive care units or in the recovery room. The predictive ability of the ANI has been demonstrated by several international studies that have shown that the ANI is significantly decreased within 5 minutes before the onset of hemodynamic reaction (Boselli et al, Minerva Anestesiol, 2015).

The results of the publications concluded today that:

  • For an unconscious patient (e.g. under general anesthesia), the target values are between 50 and 70. An ANI below 50 corresponds to an opioids failure and is predictive of hemodynamic response while an ANI higher than 70 encourages to conclude an opioid overdose.
  • For the conscious patient, ANI reflects acute pain and the patient’ stress level. The target values are between 50 and 100; an ANI value that approaches 100 reflects an optimized patient’s comfort.

From ECG to ANI: heart rate variability computation

The analysis of the heart rate variability is a well-known method for evaluating the regulation of the cardiovascular system by the autonomic nervous system. Heart rate “short-term” fluctuations reflect the activity of the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems..

The heart rate regulation by the autonomic nervous system is influenced by respiration. Inspiration temporarily inhibits the influence of the parasympathetic nervous system and produces an acceleration of the heart rate. In contrast, the expiration stimulates the parasympathetic nervous system and induces a slowing of heart rate. These rhythmic oscillations produced by breathing are called respiratory sinus arrhythmia. (cf Parasympathetic loop)

Apart from any external influence, the heart has its own rhythm, very regular, instilled by its natural pacemaker, the sinus node. But the sinus node, located in the right atrial tissue is connected to the autonomic nervous system (ANS) by its sympathetic branch (accelerator process) and the parasympathetic branch (moderator process). It is these ANS actions that induce heart rate modulations. The mathematical analysis of these instantaneous variations gives us a picture of the ANS’ activity.

YouTube-icon@2x

For more informations, you can find some videos made by our customers:

How ANI works

NO2 and ANI

Ketamine and ANI

Epidural and ANI

Ephedrine and ANI

Nociception Anti-Nociception balance

Lidocaïne and ANI

Wrong analgesia treatment

Right analgesia treatment

Effect of Esmolol bolus on ANI

world-map-site-europeThe ANI Monitor is not cleared for sale in the U.S, Mdoloris has received the 510(k) clearance for the HFVI monitor in the U.S market.

More informations

ANI – Analgesia Nociception Index

La technologie ANI est protégée par plusieurs brevets internationaux.

L’ANI (Analgesia Nociception Index) permet une mesure continue de l’activité du système nerveux autonome par l’analyse de sa composante parasympathique via l’arythmie sinusale respiratoire. Notre index utilise les variations brèves et rapides de la fréquence cardiaque induites par chaque cycle respiratoire (contrôlé ou spontané) pour quantifier le tonus parasympathique.

ANIV22@2x

L’indice ANI a été développé dans le but de fournir aux cliniciens un système de monitorage de l’analgésie patient répondant aux impératifs de la pratique clinique courante, c’est-à-dire simple d’utilisation, d’interprétation, fiable et continu… L’ANI représente une valeur numérique évoluant entre 0 et 100. Notre index quantifie l’activité de la composante parasympathique du système nerveux autonome. 

L’ANI a été développé à l’origine pour prédire l’occurrence d’une réaction hémodynamique (définie comme une augmentation de plus de 20% de la fréquence cardiaque et/ou de la pression artérielle) sous anesthésie générale. Cependant, notre technologie a prouvé sa fiabilité également pour les patients conscients en salle de réveil, en réanimation ou en pré-anesthésie. La capacité prédictive de l’ANI a été démontrée par plusieurs études internationales qui ont mis en évidence que l’ANI diminuait de manière significative 5 à 8 minutes avant la survenue de la réaction hémodynamique (Boselli et al, Minerva Anestesiol, 2014).

Les résultats des publications permettent  à ce jour de conclure que :

  • Chez le patient inconscient (exemple : sous anesthésie générale), les valeurs cibles se situent entre 50 et 70. Un ANI inférieur à 50 correspond à une insuffisance en opioïdes et est prédictif d’une réponse hémodynamique ; alors qu’un ANI supérieur à 70 inciterait à conclure à un surdosage en opioïdes.
  • Chez le patient conscient, l’ANI reflète la douleur aiguë et le niveau de stress du patient. Les valeurs cibles sont comprises entre 50 à 100, plus l’ANI se rapproche de 100 plus le confort patient est optimisé.

De l’ECG à l’ANI : principe du calcul

L’analyse de la variabilité de la fréquence cardiaque est une méthode reconnue d’évaluation de la régulation du système cardiovasculaire par le système nerveux autonome.

Les fluctuations « à court terme » de la fréquence cardiaque sont le reflet de l’activité des systèmes nerveux sympathique et parasympathique.

La régulation de la fréquence cardiaque par le système nerveux autonome est influencée par la respiration. L’inspiration inhibe temporairement l’influence du système nerveux parasympathique et produit une accélération de la fréquence cardiaque. Par opposition, l’expiration stimule le système nerveux parasympathique et induit un ralentissement de la fréquence cardiaque. Ces oscillations rythmiques produites par la respiration sont appelées l’arythmie respiratoire sinusale (cf. boucle réflexe parasympathique).

En dehors de toute influence extérieure, le cœur possède son propre rythme, régulier, insufflé par son pacemaker naturel, le nœud sinusal. Mais ce nœud sinusal, situé au niveau des tissus de l’oreillette droite, est relié au système nerveux autonome (SNA) par sa branche sympathique (voie accélératrice) et sa branche parasympathique (voie modératrice) via le nerf vague. Ce sont ces actions du SNA qui induisent les modulations de rythme cardiaque.. L’analyse mathématique de ces variations instantanées donne donc une image de l’activité du SNA.

YouTube-icon@2x

Pour plus d’informations, quelques vidéos réalisées par des clients sont consultables directement depuis notre chaine YouTube via les liens suivants:

Fonctionnement ANI

Impact du NO2 sur l’ANI

Impact de la Kétamine sur l’ANI

Épidurale et ANI

Impact de l’Éphédrine sur l’ANI

La balance Nociception Anti-Nociception

Effet de la Lidocaïne sur l’ANI

Mauvaise gestion de l’analgésie

Bonne gestion analgésique

Bolus d’Esmolol et impact sur l’ANI

world-map-site-europe

The ANI Monitor is not cleared for sale in the U.S, Mdoloris has received the 510(k) clearance for the HFVI monitor in the U.S market.

Pour en savoir plus